Options

What IP Class is it?

ch1vasch1vas Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I started studying for my CCENT,CCNA about 2weeks ago. I'm in the middle of IP Addressing. Question:

Is this IP address: 150.150.1.0 a Class C or a Class B IP?

I'll explain why I'm confused after I get some answers :).
Goal 2013: CCENT (x); CCNA(x); Security+(x); ITIL Foundation ( )

Comments

• Options
    Ltat42aLtat42a Member Posts: 587 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Have you tried writing this IP out in binary? That will give you your answer too.
  • Options
    jdballingerjdballinger Member Posts: 252
    That's a class B address.
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    ch1vas wrote: »
    I'll explain why I'm confused after I get some answers :).
    That's an odd part to add to your post...
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    xXErebuSxXErebuS Member Posts: 230
    Ltat42a wrote: »
    Have you tried writing this IP out in binary? That will give you your answer too.

No it wont... and it all depends if your talking about classful networks; if you are then jd is correct... see below

Classful network - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Please note in real world one may say use the network 10.10.10.0 and if you ask what mask they may say use a class C on it; that simply means its 10.10.10.0/24. As to standard generalization rule for classful routing see wikipedia link.
  • Options
    I was confused because it says that if an IP starts with 128-191 it's a Class B IP but at the same time x.x.x.0 indicates a Class C IP.
    So I'm a little confused when which rule applies? Or I'm just misunderstanding something...
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    xXErebuS wrote: »
    No it wont... and it all depends if your talking about classful networks; if you are then jd is correct... see below

Classful network - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia