Getting in over my head?

SirbloodySirbloody Member Posts: 112
Good Morning everyone! Well once I find out what's so good about it.

I am Sirbloody, I am pretty new to the forums but not to the IT scene. I am currently working a level 2 & 3 PC Tech job and even though I am making some decent money I plan on branching out into the Network Security field since you know it interests me. The only cert I actively have is a standard A+ one, I am currently working on getting my CCNA via ICND1/2, CCNA Security, CCNP, CCNP Security and hopefully and eventually the CCIE Security.

As far as my Cisco background is... I was in the Army for 7 years holding 2 commo MOSes (25F and 25B if anyone cares). While I was in my 25B course back in 07 I was dealing with 2950s almost everyday and I am pretty sure I still have my notes on it somewhere. Here at work I am only a PC tech but I am cross training on being a being a Sys Admin so I do have access to the few 2950s they have in the server room.

I do plan on building a home lab so I can actually learn everything I can and not just pass the tests. My goal is to get enough equipment to last me from CCNA through CCNP Security while buying the specific hardware I would need for the tests.

For hardware this is what I am thinking of ordering for now...

Switchs: 2x 3550s x1 2950 (Or something else if someone has a better suggestion, maybe a 3560 if I can get my hands on one)
Routers: I am not sure what to get here, the CCIE Lab equipment says a 3800 series ISR/1800 Series ISR, I know the How to Study forum it recommends a 1x 2520, 3x 1721 but will that last me through CCNP or would I need a different router like a 2610?
Misc: x1 WIC-1T or maybe a 2T unless someone has a better suggestion.

I have around a $900-1000 budget right now, hopefully I can get most of what I need and pick up a ASA5505 eventually and whatever else I might be missing.