Options

Cisco or Micro?

Michael2Michael2 Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm still trying to land a job in IT. I'm about to take the ICND1 but find myself wondering if I wouldn't be better off getting a Microsoft certification first. I don't care to continue the CompTIA route because I'm afraid of getting stuck in a helpdest or service desk position.

Comments

• Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Have you ever had an IT position before?
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    No, sir. I have not.
  • Options
    Just because you take a CompTIA certification doesn't mean you'll be stuck in a helpdesk position. Though, if you've never been in IT before, most people have to start out here. Even when people have a 4 year degree. Even I had to start off at a helpdesk position, and I have a 4 year degree.
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Michael2 wrote: »
    I'm still trying to land a job in IT. I'm about to take the ICND1 but find myself wondering if I wouldn't be better off getting a Microsoft certification first. I don't care to continue the CompTIA route because I'm afraid of getting stuck in a helpdest or service desk position.

Why do you think you would be better off getting a Microsoft certification? Really it's about what you want to do.
  • Options
    Really it's about what you want to do.
    That is exactly right! We cannot decide what field for you to go into. Ultimately, you can only decide. What interests you the most? Routers, switches, routing protocols and such... or Microsoft servers, Active Directory, Exchange, etc.
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■