Options

Which books shall I buy?

praving5praving5 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All, I am just beginning to know about ITIL v3 Foundation exam and want to know which books shall I buy for study? ITIL official books would cost me a bomb (I am based out of India) and I think they are not necessary for foundation exam. Which books, preferably Indian Prints, shall I buy? Also, is there any other subject matter such as practice exams etc. worth buying?

Comments

• Options
    Claire AgutterClaire Agutter Member Posts: 772 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Hi Praving

If you are studying for the ITIL Foundation exam and wish to self study you don't need to buy all of the ITIL core volumes. I would recommend that you buy a book that is specifically tailored towards the Foundation syllabus. These books will have just the information you need and aren't too expensive.

Some examples are:

ITIL foundation handbook ISBN-10: 0113313497 (disclosure - I was part of the authoring team)
    ITIL foundation exam study guide ISBN-10: 1119942756
    ITIL foundation essentials ISBN-10: 1849283990 (disclosure - I wrote this icon_smile.gif )

Make sure whatever you buy is aligned to the ITIL 2011 updates (not V3 which has been replaced) and licensed by the ITIL accreditor, that is your guarantee of quality. You can then download a free copy of the syllabus and a sample exam from the ITIL Official site to see if you are ready.

Good luck with your studies,

Claire
  • Options
  • Options
    Thanks Claire. I would have this checked.
  • Options
    Hi Claire,
    Reading on web and getting proposal from one of the local trainers in India, I got to know that it would be good to do Foundation in IT Service Management based on ISO/IEC 20000 certification as well along with ITIL 2011 certification. Is this correct and advised?

For Foundation in IT Service Management based on ISO/IEC 20000, will the below book be good: