Options

Had technical interview, feeling myself so stupid :/

GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
Today I had a job interview (by phone) for the titled as "Network Engineer".(CCNA level)

First of all, I didn't have too much technical interview experience however I have read quite much about interview questions,books and so on.

I am currently working as a Network Admin(for 7 months,first job, very small company) and feeling(felt) myself pretty confident about "IPSec,L2tp,routing protocols,frame relay concepts, vlan... etc"

However, during interview I was not able to fullfill their expectations probably, and couldn't answer some questions, even some didn't have any idea. Interviewer was not happy from what i guess. I feel myself really bad, stupid. I am a fresh university graduate now and I didn't know i am that bad when it comes to theoretical knowledge.

Some questions and my answers :
  • What is OSI ?
I explained what is OSI in a very complete way, layer by layer what happens during a communication between 2 computers. I told him that i can go deeper, but he said that it is not necessary.
  • What is TCP and 3 way handshake
Here I explained again in a complete way, and I even told a little bit about flow control and windowing
  • What is the maximum packet size you can send in one window ?
Here, I didn't know the answer. And somehow i got stressed (not my style), I said: well i dont remember but MTU is 1500 bytes, for this specific question i will check it out. He said " 65535 bytes"
  • So if it is 65535 bytes, can u send this size of packet in one window at the beginning ?
Damn! I knew the answer but as a reflection of this stress: I said " why not" icon_sad.gif ( But of course that's not possible, main idea of windowing is to adjust the size of the sent data by the time which was told by me 10 sec ago to interviewer. So i screwed up!.) He said: " no, your answer is wrong"