Options

How did you get your first Help Desk job?

TheBigMacTheBigMac Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just dont know how its possible, because everything (not just in IT) seems to be a catch-22, you cant get a job because you have no experience, and you cant get experience because you cant get a job! so Im wondering what you guys did to get that first job!? and just any advice for a total newbie. I want to get my comptia cert but its going to cost me like £300 and I dont have money to waste on something that just wont help me.

Comments

• Options
    QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    Internship. Some places have paid internships to do grunt work and then if you're decent work your way into a full time gig. You're going to do the complete poop work but if you do it and do it with some zest, take initiative where you can, it can work out. If you don't get a gig, at least you have some experience you can put on your resume for another job. It's how I did it.
  • Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    *sits and reflects back to the old days*

I took some tech support/sales gig just to get my foot in the door, stood out technically and from a customer service perspective. I think a opening came up on the Help Desk and don't recall really but I started talking to the Mgr over it and next thing I knew I was there. Contract ended shortly after but they referenced me over to an IT Consulting firm, jumped on their Help Desk 3rd shift and was quickly moved on site at a client doing Desktop work...

Moral of the story, foot in the door, quickly proved I wasn't retarded, advanced. lol
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Options
    QHalo wrote: »