Options

Starting the route towards CCENT / CCNA...

riahc3riahc3 Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello

I graduated a year ago as a software engineer but really never wanted to do it. Programming generally sucks IMO.

Ive always had a intrest in networking and in the CCENT / CCNA exam but not much of a studier. BUT.......I guess Ill have to gain cash somehow (programmer just doesnt cut it)

So, lets start off: I know labbing is very important which is something I personally love but studing Ive read is important for this too. I dont like reading books at all but Ill give it a shot.

I do want to make something clear: My point of getting the CCENT / CCNA exam is to pass the exam. I have no intrest in knowing the material in and out. Illl problably stop at CCNA without intrest in CCNP.

OK, now that thats done: What material would you recommend? Like I said, I dont like books so I perfer some good videos or manuals....

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    JasonITJasonIT Member Posts: 114
    Your approach seems a bit odd to me. You don't like programming and only want this cert for the cert and not the knowledge? To each their own though.

I would not attempt this with videos only, I would recommend reading and understanding the books.

Books -
    Todd Lammle
    Wendell Odom
    Cisco Press ( I liked these the best, but read all three)
    Videos -
    CBT Nuggets
    INE
    TrainSignal
    Labs -
    GNS3
    Cisco Packet Tracer
    Both have many searchable and downloadable labs
    Also, get physical equipment if you can, many examples on the site for equipment to purchase

Good luck to you!

J
  • Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    So you don't want to do networking as a career? The only way to get good at it is to probably understand it, most of us here want jobs as a network engineer
  • Options
    JasonIT wrote: »