Lack of formal education is killing me. Seeking advice.

2»

Comments

• Main EventMain Event Member Posts: 124
    Should I go to WGU?

I have a couple questions...

1. Is this a good school for "newbies" entering the IT field? I don't have much experience and I have a AS degree in Computer Networking. I did my transfer already and I have to take some more classes but I need to get into the IT field and stop doing other side jobs.

I want to make sure I can handle the coursework so I don't end up wasting money.

I'm not good at math at all.
  • RoyalRavenRoyalRaven Member Posts: 142 ■■■□□□□□□□
    purplefuzz wrote: »
    I know education is important but in my opinion the traditional university route broken and teaches students how to easily go into debt more then anything else. I'll update you all on my progress along the way. Thank you again.

If you can find a university local to you that is a "National Security Agency - Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance" (http://www.nsa.gov/ia/academic_outreach/nat_cae/institutions.shtml) AND has a strong IA/InfoSec program (good teachers/good enrollment), you'd be crazy not to check it out as another option.
  • swildswild Member Posts: 828
    Main Event wrote: »
    Should I go to WGU?

I have a couple questions...

1. Is this a good school for "newbies" entering the IT field? I don't have much experience and I have a AS degree in Computer Networking. I did my transfer already and I have to take some more classes but I need to get into the IT field and stop doing other side jobs.

I want to make sure I can handle the coursework so I don't end up wasting money.

I'm not good at math at all.