Options

Im an IT professional who has never graduated from High School AMA.

ThrowmeawayThrowmeaway Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
As someone that has never been to college, never graduated high school and has worked in a handful of different IT environments I'd like to open up to anyone else in a similar situation for questions and tips on how to move forward.

I have my MCTS, MCDST-MCP, VCP5. These were all obtained on my own...

I feel that skill over rides paper any day as far as college etc.. and anyone should be able to make it into a decent paying job without paying hundreds of thousands of dollars.

So if your interested in my experiences, my road to where i am.. ask away.

Comments

• Options
    BloogenBloogen Member Posts: 180 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am sure there are many people who want to get to where you are now who may have a similar background. It may help if you give more profile on yourself such as your current job title, age, where you live, salary etc.

Other than that some questions I can think of are, whats the next step for you? Do you foresee yourself going back to formal education? What was your biggest challenge due to your background and how did you overcome it?
  • Options
    wes allenwes allen Member Posts: 540 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Did you and/or your parents make a conscious decision to not finish high school, or is that just the way it worked out? Do you stick with smaller companies that don't have HR hoops to jump through?

I do not have a college degree, and while there are times I think about maybe going back, I just think about the time and money I would spend on a degree that could go toward directly increasing my tech skill set. I do accept that means there are jobs out there that I will never be hired for.
  • Options
    Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I dropped out of high school too. In 9 years in the IT industry, it has never been an issue.