Options

Polite Answers To Eight Shockingly Rude Salary Questions Recruiters Ask

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    DPG wrote: »
    As a hiring manager, I will refuse to interview someone that will not provide their salary expectations. I couldn't care less about what they have made in the past
    Do you give them a range?
  • Options
    fmitawapsfmitawaps Banned Posts: 261
    I just finished a contract assignment making $22 an hour. I applied to a data center and got hired, the recruiting agency asked my previous pay rate and I told them it was $26 an hour. This way if they try to lowball me it will still be a pay raise.

They didn't ask for proof or pay stubs or anything, and even if they had asked, they would not get it, as my pay was all direct deposit and I had no pay stubs. But I wouldn't have made the effort to give them proof of income anyhow, as that is not in my best interest.
  • Options
    TacoRocketTacoRocket Member Posts: 497 ■■■■□□□□□□
    One tip that I learned from the site is to tell them you can't disclose that information. Have them draw out the number first. I have been honest on interviews on my salary and have had bunches of recruiters put me at the same pay. Heck I had one put me in the middle. I tell them it's an NDA but I would be willing to consider positions for X amount.

Learned that lesson once.
    These articles and posts are my own opinion and do not reflect the view of my employer.

Website gave me error for signature, check out what I've done here: https://pwningroot.com/
  • Options
    LeBrokeLeBroke Member Posts: 490 ■■■■□□□□□□
    DPG wrote: »
    As a hiring manager, I will refuse to interview someone that will not provide their salary expectations. I couldn't care less about what they have made in the past