Adios, IT!

Comments

• NetAdmin2436NetAdmin2436 Member Posts: 1,076
    Subnetting is a very hard concept to grasp for most people, so your not alone. But for god's sake, don't let that steer you clear of IT. I took some Cisco classes 6-7 years ago in college. I have been a network admin at a relatively small company for the past 5 years and haven't touched a Cisco router/switch since (not that I don't like them, we just use a different vendor) and it's rare if I have to do any subnetting. Besides, just use a subnet calculator if your on the job and are getting stressed about a subnetting issue. Learn it, but don't stress over it and don't change career simply because of it.

Basically what I'm trying to say is if you don't like Cisco or subnetting, don't work with it. There's plenty of jobs in IT that don't require Cisco and/or subnetting (Sorry Mike icon_wink.gif).

I seriously doubt your going to have to do as much subnetting as you think. A lot of us don't do subnetting everyday.
    WIP: CCENT/CCNA (.....probably)
  • skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    HeroPsycho wrote: »
    +1000

If you learn to think like the router thinks, it's easy. That's the problem most instructors have. They simply don't do that.

IMO, if someone explains to you subnetting by using anything but binary until the very end, they're not doing it right.
    I'm in agreement here. It seems like rocket science at first, but once you get comfortable in binary notations and learn the tricks, it's relatively straight forward.

First, get your binary/decimal conversions down. Then do every subnetting problem you can get your hands on in binary and you'll be able to SEE what's going on. It's SO much easier to understand in binary - the placement of the 1's & 0's can be very telling.
    Currently Studying For: Nothing (cert-wise, anyway)
    Next Up: Security+, 291?

Enrolled in Masters program: CS 2011 expected completion
  • the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■