Options

Advancing my career

13»

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    LarryDaMan wrote: »
    Terrible advice. If you are going to spend the next 10-30 years paying off student loans, it is okay to work hard and strive for good grades. A little stress is good for you.

I was going to say something, but I held back because I tend to get preachy when it comes to this subject. Been listening to too much Dave Ramsey :)
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Ok as a recent college grad I am hoping to pass on some knowledge.

1. Figure out what you want a degree in. Seems you've been changing your mind a bit (nothing wrong with that), but I wouldn't continue spending money and switching programs. I'd suggest a business/accounting degree because you can do a lot with those degrees. A combo of a business degree and computer certs you could pretty much do anything.

2. Go to a brick and mortar school. Name does matter and I can't tell you the number of interviews I've gotten because someone in HR or IT Department is a graduate from my school.

3. If you have a job, take your time. Solid work experience, certifications, and a degree are the trifecta.

Dynamik, I saw your question about graduate school and having a low GPA at one college and a good one at another. Most schools request transcripts from all schools attended. That being said, they look at the whole person. Letters of rec, essay, GMAT/GRE (not always required) and perhaps the GPA with courses related to the degree only. Also, as someone else stated, some will allow you to complete a couple of courses and base the decision off of that GPA. I gotta start getting all my stuff ready for graduate school!
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□