Options

Gave up on IT, but good luck everyone!

jjbrogjjbrog Member Posts: 149
I got a Associates degree in May of this year as a Network Admin. I've been looking and responding to job adds for months, and for someone without an IT work history, the entry level offers SUCK BAD! These employers expect someone to actually accept a offer for $9-$11 an hour? I mean really if it was a no experience required, no degree required etc, I could understand that would be reasonable, but no one should go through 2+ years of college and end up making such a low unlivable wage, it's a slap in the face. Anyone can say "but, you're inexperienced" all you want but, I did the classes, I did the assignments, I scored a final GPA of 3.86. I'd say it may not be work experience, but its academic experience, and it takes someone who knows what they are doing to manage almost straight A's. I'm not depressed cause of it, actually, I have another road to follow. I work in manufacturing, just got promoted to quality facilitator and will be starting that at around $18 an hour, I have great benefits, 15 days of vacation, 5 days of PTO, 160 hours a year of sick time, 100% tuition reimbursement etc. So this coming year I will be starting a Bachelors in manufacturing quality management. Luckily, my old credits transfer well so all I have to do is 55 credits. I'm not saying manufacturing is the way to go, a lot of cheapskate companies in that area as well(who usual fail to ever find good long term employees cause of low wages, which actually turns into lost revenue cause of low quality and production numbers, but trying telling those morons that, my company however starts out at a fair wage), With that being said, good luck to everyone, but it's not going to work out in IT for me, would be nice, and is probably a good starting point for the younger ones who still live at home and can survive off of such low entry level wages for awhile, but as someone in their early - mid 30s, who has bills to pay,