Options

WGU trying to finish in 1 term - KET1 Java questions

redline5thredline5th Member Posts: 119
Hello guys!

I am not quite 2.5 months into my degree at WGU. I lack 20 credit hours so far.

I was just speaking with my course mentor and he has me worried! He claims it will take 3 months to complete the SINGLE java class KET1. Now I'm worried! He said the 2nd Java class is just as long. This puts me not graduating until next year almost.

How long do you find that this class took you? I am really worried about this as I do not have that kind of time as I need this degree for my job.

I purchased the book entitled "Java for Programmers", as during my research several of you recommended it.

Is there any other resources that you guys used? How did you approach this class and how long did you find that it took you to complete this class?

I am not a software programmer, so I don't have a lot of experience with Java. I do know some PHP and Javascript.
WGU - Bachelors in Information Technology

“The liberty of speaking and writing guards our other liberties.” -- Thomas Jefferson

Comments

• Options
    swildswild Member Posts: 828
    That book is all I needed for both classes. I think I spent maybe 60 hours total on the 2 classes. I didn'y have any Java experience going into it, just some really old C++ experience. Just do the Taskstream, don't worry about the rest of the crap.
  • Options
    So you were able to pass in 60 hours? Meaning if you spent 40 hours one week and half of another? (assuming you worked full-time). I work part-time, so I should be able to dedicate almost 30 hours in one week.

I took visual basic with my 2 year degree, so I do have some of that.

My mentor has me worried... he said "Our best students take a long time with this class, and honestly 2 months is best case scenario, but figure 3 months". I was thinking 3-4 weeks worst case scenario...

“The liberty of speaking and writing guards our other liberties.” -- Thomas Jefferson