Options

Asking for a raise?

Well here is my situation, I am currently employed at an ISP here in south texas and I have my A.A.S degree in networking and 3 years of previous experience in network administration plus my A+,N+,MCSA,MCSE,and CCNA certifications. I have been working there for about 4 months now. Midway through my 2nd month on the job there the Network Engineer quit to start off his own ISP so I was moved from a tech to the new Network Administrator. I am maintaing all servers (linux and windows), routers, switches, and also doing installations for new customers and the only person doing the help desk. Since then the owner has hired 2 recent high school grads to help me with the outside installations. When I took the job the owner started me off at 8.50 /hr and said that after a 90 day probation he would look at my work and we could work out a raise for me. Well is has been 4 months now and I am still getting paid the same amount of money. The 2 high school kids are getting paide 8.00 /hr and I just found out today that he has made an offer to another installer to come and work for the company and he would give him 12/hr. I have asked him for my raise but he quickly changes the conversation or tells me that he doesent want to giveout raises right now because he has other work problems to worry about. I am currently looking for another job but there are not that many openings around the area where I am at. What could I do now to ask for a raise????

THanks

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    5 years ago you could have demanded a raise and threatened to leave, but you already mentioned there are not that many openings in your area... but I would try to ask again, and at the same time I'd be looking hard for another job. Maybe at the Network Engineer that started his own ISP? icon_wink.gif
  • Options
    netteasernetteaser Member Posts: 198