Options

Student Experiences at Western Governors University (WGU)

Comments

• Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    rep21 wrote: »
    I have to agree with you on this. Currently, I am trying(TRYING being the key word) to enroll for the database emphasis. During completion of my AAS I studied a lot of Cisco networking, some Microsoft Administration and a little Linux. Since I did not learn anything about databases or programming, I chose to go towards that direction in order to just fill in the gaps. Its my thinking that I could fairly easy switch over to getting MS certs or more Cisco certs if I chose to go that direction later. Having more areas of knowledge just feels like it would be beneficial to me as I currently only have help desk experience and am undecided which direction in IT to go.

That being said, I was wondering how long it took everyone else to get their transcripts evaluated? Currently WGU has had my transcripts for three weeks going on four now. I talked to my enrollment counselor twice, and he said he talked to them about it. I wanted to start in October, but if they are going to take forever with my transcripts, I may not make the October deadline. icon_sad.gif

Validate experience you already have or learn something new?

There is no right or wrong answer...but you need to have a plan to where you want to go post-degree.

I didn't need to do a degree program....I can just stay at my current job and call it a day for another 11 years and retire with full medical and reduced pension. However, if I ever wanted to go into management, it would be either difficult or impossible to do that. However, I could always get another lateral. That prospect would have made me terribly unhappy.