Options

Why negative feedback to ccna and no experience?

124»

Comments

• Options
    Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    All very good information.

I am in the same boat. However I do have somewhat of a start, I am a Team Lead for a help desk (doesn't say too much in the networking realm). Am I truely doing what I want to be doing? No.

Forsaken_GA, thank you for your input as well as others who didn't fluff the facts. I know I need to be brought down to reality sometimes too. Like what was mentioned before we cannot expect a high level / high skill job right out of the gate. I for one can vouch that yes I studied by butt off for CCNA. I didn't even consider using brain **** because I wanted to learn the material. I wanted to be knowledgeable. I also wanted a networking job right out of the gate. I also know that there are TONS more to learn ahead of me before I can become a successful network engineer.

I think the best thing for anyone who is starting out is to take something that could develop you into more. Keep aiming at what you want and do everything you can to put yourself into that position. I myself don't see a ton of Network Engineer development with my current position but I will take all my spare time (that my wife will allow) to continue to transform that so that I am ready for that interview when it does come along.

Keep up with your material and get your hands on experience. I know its a hard and frustrating road getting a start in networking. Trust me I am right there with you. You just have to keep doing as much as you can to bring home what you have truly aspired to become. Many people here have worked their butts off and had to take jobs like help desk before they could get where they want to be. In the end if you truly want it you will put yourself into a position to get there.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...