Options

Western Governors University Questions and Answers / Threads related to WGU

Comments

• Options
    rpeek90rpeek90 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi all,

I am starting my Bachelor's in IT in March. I am currently a desktop support admin with a few years of solid corporate experience and an A+ cert. I am torn between the Network Admin and Network Security degree tracks. The network admin degree is the most appealing because I believe landing a job as a network admin is the most reasonable and logical progression out of my current role (and i'm interested in network/security). However, the network admin degree doesn't have the built-in CCNA, not to mention the CCNA Security is a really attractive cert to have. Most all networking jobs I have come across really, really want at least CCNA. This makes the network admin track a little less worthy than the Security, IMO. I'm just a little skeptical about jumping into the Security degree without any decent real-world networking experience, plus not even getting that Server 2012 cert that the admin track offers. Would it be better to go for the security degree, and land a network admin job anyways and bank on having the nice security credentials and knowledge for the future? Or should I go the easier route for Network Admin and try and grab CCNA on my own time? Sorry for the long post and I hope I have made clear my dilemma. I just really want to make the right decision this time around. Any better info on the two programs or anyone with experience would be greatly, greatly appreciated. I don't have long to make my decision.

Thanks, and Happy New Year
  • Options
    rcsoar4funrcsoar4fun Member Posts: 103 ■■□□□□□□□□
    rpeek90 wrote: »
    Hi all,