Options

Western Governors University Questions and Answers / Threads related to WGU

Comments

• Options
    renquistrenquist Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hello,

Looking to see if anyone has any experience with the software development track of WGU. Currently I'm a sys admin and really want to get a degree for myself, and develop into a devops style of a role. I have the a+, n+, and mcsa server 2008 that will be able to transfer in, as well as 30 hours of general credits from a local community college.

With that being said I havn't heard great things about the software development track. I was really looking for a computer science degree, however the school I'm looking at (UMUC) is quite a bit more and does not transfer in certifications.

Currently I'm speaking with an enrollment agent who has me on the BSIT - Security track as it seems to have a great program. (as well as great certs)

I'm not opposed to a networking style of career, but I really have my heart set on development.

Does anyone have any advice or thoughts here? Anyone actually participate in the B.S Software Development?
  • Options
    ratbuddyratbuddy Member Posts: 665
    I went through the IT-Software program, and I can say that it provided a great foundation for my fledging development career. The BS:SD program seems a bit more hardcore (less general IT courses, more dev stuff and a more advanced Java cert), so as long as you put in the work, I'm sure it'll be a good program to help you break into the development world.

As with anything else, it's all about your attitude and the effort you are willing to put in. Slack through the degree program and interview poorly, and you won't land a good job. Put in the time and effort, and work on your interviewing and soft skills, and the sky is the limit.